Independent affiliate information site — not the manufacturer or official Arctic Blast website. Affiliate disclosure
Arctic Blast product guide

Arctic Blast Directions: How to Apply the Topical Liquid

Arctic Blast directions from the current Drug Facts label, plus practical external-use safety steps and when to stop use.

Written by Arctic Blast Guide Editorial Team · Last updated September 11, 2026
Current label direction: For adults, apply Arctic Blast to the affected area no more than 3 to 4 times daily. [1]
Arctic Blast topical liquid being applied to a wrist

A label-first application routine

  1. Read the Drug Facts warnings before first use.
  2. Use only on intact external skin in the affected area.
  3. Avoid eyes, wounds and damaged skin.
  4. Do not bandage the area tightly.
  5. Do not exceed the label frequency of 3 to 4 applications per day for adults.
  6. Wash hands if needed after application, especially before touching the eyes.

Why this site does not prescribe a specific number of drops

Some promotional copy may describe the product in terms of drops, but the current Drug Facts direction available through DailyMed is frequency-based: apply to the affected area no more than 3 to 4 times daily. We prefer the current label over inconsistent marketing shorthand.

When to stop and ask a doctor

The label says to stop use and ask a doctor if the condition worsens, symptoms persist for more than 7 days, or symptoms clear up and return within a few days. If swallowed, seek medical help or contact a Poison Control Center immediately.

Storage and handling

Store at room temperature, keep the cap firmly tightened and do not use the product if the printed safety seal on the cap is broken or missing. Because the product is labeled flammable, keep it away from fire, flame, sparks and heated surfaces.

Why frequency matters more than guessing a drop count

A dropper bottle naturally encourages people to think in “number of drops,” but the current label we reviewed does not specify a drop count. It specifies application to the affected area no more than 3 to 4 times daily for adults. That is the instruction this site repeats because it is less ambiguous and directly tied to the Drug Facts record.

The amount needed to cover an area can vary with the size of that area and the way the dropper dispenses liquid. Rather than inventing a universal amount, follow the current package labeling. If the physical bottle you receive contains directions that differ from an older online page, use the current label and seek professional clarification if needed.

Do not add unlisted “boosters”

Do not assume that heat, tight wrapping, broken-skin application or higher frequency will make a topical analgesic work better. Arctic Blast specifically warns against tight bandaging and is flammable, so improvised heat or occlusion strategies can create avoidable risk.

Choose the application area carefully

The label refers to the affected area, but it also excludes wounds and damaged skin and tells users to avoid the eyes. That means application should stay on intact external skin. If the discomfort is near an eye, mucous membrane, open wound or significant skin irritation, general online instructions are not enough to make the product appropriate there.

After application

Allow the product to remain on the intended skin area without adding a tight occlusive bandage. Keep the bottle capped when not in use and away from ignition sources because the label identifies the product as flammable. Store at room temperature and check that the safety seal is intact before first use.

If directions on the bottle change

Use the current physical label and current authoritative listing rather than an older copied instruction. OTC labels can be revised, which is another reason this site includes a last-updated date and avoids hard-coding a marketing “drop count” that the reviewed Drug Facts section does not specify.

References

  1. DailyMed — Arctic Blast Pain Relieving (menthol, camphor synthetic) liquid
Check Current Price